Barlow Prize 2014 Winners
$12,000 Commission, New Work for Saxophone Quartet

Press Release: The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University proudly announces commission winners for 2014.  After reviewing 280 composer applications from 30 countries worldwide,the judging panel awarded Ben Hjertmann of Chicago, Illinois, (now living in North Carolina and teaching at Appalachian State University) the $12,000 Barlow Prize to compose a major new work for saxophone quartet.  The panel also granted Steven Bryant of Durham, North Carolina, the distinction of Honorable Mention in this competition. 

Dr. Hjertmann has a DMA from Northwestern University where he graduated in 2013 with Program Honors. He recently taught composition, theory, music technology, and songwriting at Northwestern.  From his website:  "His music has been featured at Fast Forward Austin, Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinics, the conference of the College Band Directors National Association, and the South by Southwest Non Classical showcase.  Hjertmann has been a resident artist at 360 XOCHI QUETZAL, the MacDowell Colony, the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, and the Shell Lake Arts Center.  He was a 2013 fellow at the Bang on a Can Summer Music Institute, and a 2011 fellow at the Other Minds Festival." For more information, consult his website.

In considering nearly 100 applications in our General and LDS commissioning programs the Endowment granted $62,000 to ten composers who will write works for the following ensembles and musicians:  
Dan Trueman (So Percussion and Jack Quartet); Mikel Kuehn (Spektral Quartet); Peter Van Zandt Lane (EQ Ensemble); Christopher Fisher-Lochhead (Spektral Quartet); Ted Hearne (Roomful of Teeth); Mark Engebretson (Bent Frequency); Chad Cannon (Farallon Quintet); Steven Ricks (Manhattan String Quartet); Matthew Nielsen (BYU Singers); and Curtis Smith (Bryan Lew/violist).

The judging panel included the Endowment’s Board of Advisers: Todd Coleman, Stacy Garrop, Christian Asplund, James Mobberley, and Leilei Tian.  Ethan Wickman served as a guest judge in most of the deliberations.  Zachary Shemon, Stephen Page, and Ryan Janus represented the PRISM, ZZYZX, and United States Air Force saxophone quartets respectively in selecting the Barlow Prize.  These ensembles form the Endowment’s performing consortium that will premiere the new work in 2016. 

The Endowment wishes to thank all composers and ensembles that applied for commissions.  Because of limited resources and keen competition among hundreds of applicants, the Endowment regrets they were unable to fund many deserving composers and their projects.  Next year’s Barlow Prize will feature a new work for orchestra.  Details for this commission will be available on our website soon.

For more information on the Barlow Prize, please click here.

Barlow Performances

Aaron Travers Barlow Prize winning piece, Exodus, will recieve its world premiere on September 16, 2014 at Indiana University. The piece will then be performed on tour at the University of Chicago on October 11, 2014 and on November 15, 2014 at Harvard University.

For more information about premieres and performances, please click here or view our Facebook page here.

Visconti given 2014 ted fellowship

Dan ViscontiBarlow Prize Winner Dan Visconti was just named a 2014 TED Fellow and his music will be featured by several orchestras in the US in 2014.

The TED Fellowship committee said,"For his ongoing creative initiatives using classical music to engage social issues and under-served communities, Dan has just been awarded a 2014 TED Fellowship and joins a select group of next-generation innovators of unusual accomplishments who show potential to positively affect the world."

Dan will deliver a TED talk at the 2014 TED Conference in Vancouver.

Please send applications and all
required materials to:

ATTN: Rebecca Ott
Barlow Endowment

A-501 Harris Fine Arts Center
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah 84602

Send Express mail to:

ATTN: Rebecca Ott
Barlow Endowment

701 East University Parkway
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah 84602

Telephone: (801) 422-2818

All materials must be RECEIVED by
JUNE 1-annually
Please plan accordingly.

PLEASE NOTE: Because of the number of applications the Barlow Endowment receives, we will inform applicants about the receipt of their materials via email after they are processed. This will be no later than June 30th. Unfortunately, the Endowment cannot consider special requests prior to that date.

All applications must be sent by regular post or express delivery. Follow the link below to the application, print it from your browser, and complete the application. Please send the application, letter, and other materials together in one envelope.

Download an application here as a PDF or Word Document.

The barlow endowment

The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition was established in September of 1983 under the auspices of Milton A. and Gloria Barlow, who presented a substantial gift to Brigham Young University to engender and support excellence in musical composition. The Board of Directors and Board of Advisors have subsequently been engaged in employing the proceeds of the Endowment to support four programs: The Barlow Prize, General Commissions, LDS Composer Commissions, and Education Grants.

mission statement

The Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University encourages and financially supports composers who demonstrate technical skills and natural gifts for the composition of great music. The endowment achieves this through its Barlow Prize, commissioning programs, and support of student composers.

Like us on Facebook | 2010 Brigham Young University | All Rights Reserved