2018 Barlow Prize – $12,000 Commission

New Work for Reed Quintet

The winning composer will receive a $12,000 commission from the Barlow Endowment to compose a major new work for Reed Quintet.  The winning composer’s work will be premiered in 2019 by a consortium of three quintets:  Akropolis (Michigan), BYU (Utah) and the Calefax (Netherlands).

The 15-20 minute work is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium.  Additional specifications for the work will be negotiated among the Barlow Endowment, the composer, and the performing consortium.

Guidelines for Applying

If you experience difficulties during the application process, please call or e-mail us:


There are no restrictions with regard to musical style, nationality, age, gender, race, religion, or political persuasion. The only limitations are:

1)  Composers who have won the Barlow Prize in the previous five years will not be considered in the Prize competition.

2)  Members of the Barlow Boards are not eligible.


Application Procedures
New procedures for applying: Start the application process for the Barlow Prize by clicking on the application link found below. Upon completion, an e-mail will be sent to the applicant with further instructions and the application PDF attached.
  • Note: Your application is saved automatically and closing the browser will not result in lost data. In order to resume the application process, you must re-open the application link on the same device you began your application.

  • Anonymous submission is not necessary.
  • Supporting materials should be sent by regular or express mail and must include a résumé of compositional activity and exactly two sample scores (no electronic copies—hard copies only). One of these compositions (not an arrangement or recasting of an earlier work) must be no more than five years old. At least one score must show a command of writing for which the composer is applying. The other may be any example that showcases the composer at his/her best.
  • Scores with recordings are considered extremely helpful in the judging process. For ease of handling, judges urge composers to burn a single CD containing both submitted works, and to use multiple tracking for multi-movement works. Be certain the CD case lists detailed program and track information.
  • The recording must be in a format playable by a normal CD player. Live recordings are strongly encouraged, MIDI realizations are acceptable. Please remember that the judges will not be able to review DVDs, or CDs containing MP3 or MIDI files.
Submission and Care of materials

Below is a basic checklist of the submission materials for the Barlow Prize competition. All materials must be received by the Endowment before close of business on June 1.

Prize Materials
Exactly two (2) hard-copy scores
Recordings of the two scores, indexed on one (1) CD (highly recommended)
Composer Resume and biographical sketch
Printed PDF of Online Application

The Barlow Endowment does not return scores, recordings, or any other materials submitted by applicants. Meticulous care will be exercised in processing all materials submitted, but neither the Endowment nor Brigham Young University will be responsible for lost or damaged scores or recordings.


Applications and all materials must be RECEIVED before close of business on June 1st of each calendar year. This deadline is absolute—the Endowment is not obligated to respond to composer requests for any exception, and will not consider applications or materials received after that date. We encourage contestants from outside the United States to mail their materials early to avoid problems caused by postal delays. Note: the university does not receive mail on Saturday, Sunday, or US national holidays. FAQS


The Barlow Prize will be judged during the summer by the Barlow Endowment Board of Advisors and additional guest judges who represent the interests and perspectives of the performers. The Barlow Endowment will notify the winner, participants, and friends of the Endowment of the results before August 31. If, in the opinion of the judging panel, no applicant merits the Barlow Prize, it will not be awarded.